Why teens hate reading today

Since as long as I can remember I have been given the ridiculous homework of reading logs. Required reading logs and AR(accelerated reader) destroyed my sister, and many of my friends love of reading. AR requires you to reach a certain number of points you earn by reading books that have different point values, but because of this system being put in place when I was in jr. High it caused reading to turn from a joy to a hassle because I no longer could just enjoy the book I had to study it for a quiz just to earn enough points to pass. When that ended as I got to high school I was beyond thankful but then the English department thought it would be a great idea to not only stack us with pointless homework but to add reading a book for class and a reading log book. Reading logs are an elementary school homework not high school level yet they still assign it. So my final opinion on the matter is that before teachers start asking the question why don’t my students enjoy reading they need to look at the idiotic assignments they are constantly giving.

1 Comment

Filed under education, homework, teachers

One response to “Why teens hate reading today

  1. I often say that if the purpose of school was to make kids hate reading, they’d be doing a terrific job.

    I like your blog! I’ll put it on my links list.

Leave a comment